E723-23: System is not complete for analysis purposes


Problem:

The following appears when I open  a model:

 ---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
  E723-23:  System is not complete for analysis purposes     
---------------------------
OK  
---------------------------

How to resolve?

Solution:

There are a few issues that cause this error to be displayed. The following are known:

1. Incomplete Bend.

Example #1:

Must review the entire model looking for incomplete components, using the Solid model view feature, look for transparent pipe, typically bends such as the following:

This bend point radius is too large. The bend's Near or Far point would occur outside of the next node point, (ex. B76 above). Or the origin point of a segment is a bend that is not configured with a Near point as shown above (ex. B16)

Options:

a. reduce the bend radius so the entire bend can be displayed with the space allowed befor the next node point.

b. Or, select the bend point and press Modify> Convert Point to > choose Point. However, then you will encure another warning message, 90 deg kink in pipe that will need to be addressed.

c.  Or, select the bend point and press Modify> Convert Point to > choose Tee, and then add a third segment to complete the tee.

d. Or insert a short pipe segment before the point to provide directionality for the entire bend to be displayed.

  

Example #2:

 

See piping and Point tab information below:

why does this cause the E723-23:  Error message when trying to run an Analysis?

Answer: See the Paint Tab of the input grid, Notice that there is a Point, Bend, Bend. What is missing or is a mistake?

Please see the following AutoPIPE help section:
Help > Contents> Contents Tab> Command Reference> Insert & Modify commands> Component Reference> Bend Points> read this entire page:

.... Unlike other AutoPIPE components, bends cannot be placed in a drawing until its orientation is known....

Again, what is the problem, Run , Bend, Bend, what is missing the next run point to identify the 2nd bend point direction. 

Solution, a. enter another run point after the 2nd bend to complete the specification of the 2nd bend TIP, Near, Far, and Mid points. Or, b. convert the 2nd bend point into a run point using the Convert Point to... Run command.

 

2. Near zero length element

Perform a Model Consistency check on the model looking for the following warning:

W726-6:  Near zero length element at following point(s)   

AutoPIPE does not like to have pipe lengths that are near Zero length, move or delete the node point that is causing the run length to be near zero length. Perform this step until this warning no longer appears in the model listing report. Refer to KB article here for further details on this warning message.

Note: For AutoPIPE 09.06.01.xx and lower, use Tools> Model Consistency Check command. 

3. More than one 'Joint Type & User SIF' value at a single node

Perform a Model Consistency check on the model looking for the following warning:

E2143-20: More than one 'Joint Type & User SIF' data was found at following point(s)   

AutoPIPE does not like to more than 1 joint type and user SIF value at any one node point. If there is more than one, the message above will appear.

Avoidance is simple delete the duplicate "Joint Type & User SIF" data at the given node point(s)

4. Unidentified General Model Options:

When opening a model from a higher edition with a lower edition (ex. open  AutoPIPE Nuclear model with AutoPIPE Standard edition) some features of the higher edition are not available in the lower edition (ex. Pipe code = ASME NB is only available in the Nuclear version and not in Standard or Advanced (Plus) ).

Therefore, check all settings for Tools> model options> General, Edit, and Results. Also review the Input grid for missing data (especially under pipe properties).

Example: the Piping Code could be set to "L" (Piping Code = L) as shown below:

Solution #1:

A. Close the model

B. Change the AutoPIPE Edition to Nuclear

C. Now, reopen the model in an AutoPIPE nuclear Edition, the correct piping code will be displayed. 

D. Review the model to be correct (i.e. all settings pertinent to a Nuclear model)

Solution #2:

A. On the General Model Options Dialog screen select a different piping code than "L"

B. Continue to use AutoPIPE

C. If used, check entire model (i.e. all application setting pertinent to a Nuclear model will have been erased) to ensure all settings are correct for piping code selection.

 Note:

Always look to the Application Bar to see what version is currently open (i.e.  Demo, Standard, Advanced, Nuclear), If the model was last modified in AutoPIPE Nuclear that has the ability to use nuclear codes and then interrogated by a person using AutoPIPE Standard, will cause an issue with the selected code.

5. Limitation on Tee Flexibility and SIF Calculations for Non-Soil Conditions for TEE:

The model generates the following error message when the consistency check is executed, as shown below:


 

The only avoidance:
Remove soil from all three legs of tee. Suggest adding nodes around the tee point on all legs a short distance away from tee (at least more than D/2 from tee intersection, where D = Header Outside diameter). Doing this will add the effect of soil springs, as well as Tee Flexibilities according to B31J:

For more details on this Error message refer the KB link here

6. Beam material listing has a Blank Entry

In some models the Beam Material listing may have a Blank entry that is causing the this message to appear.

Example:

Use the following steps to fix this issue:

      1. Open any existing Beam Section ID in a dialog. 
      2. Change the Beam Material setting from its current value (ex. STEEL) and select the Blank option from the drop down listing.
      3.  Enter "1" or any random values > 0.00 in Modulus, Possion's Ratio, and Density fields
      4. Press the "Apply" button
      5.  Change the Material name from Blank material selection back to the original setting (ex. STEEL)
      6.  Again, press the "Apply" button
      7. Press OK button to close the Beam Section Properties dialog
      8. Test to see if the issue has been resolved
        1. Test #1:
          1. Perform a Model Consistency Check command, the "E723-23:  System is not complete for analysis purposes" should not appear or be listed.
        2. Test #2:
          1. Run Analyze All or Static Analysis command, again the "E723-23:..." message should not appear or be listed.

Here is what happened: at some point (ex. importing STAAD 2026 model) a Beam Material with a Blank ID with all its material values were blank or set to 0.00 was generated in the model. This was fixed by following the steps given above, which updated the Beam material database in the model such that the Blank Beam material was reassign to the values entered instead of being Blank / 0.00. Afterwards, the model was able to run the Model Consistency check and perform an Analysis without flagging the E723-23 error message anymore. 

Note: maybe combined with:

      1. E2164-112:The value of "Modulus" must be greater than zero for following beam section material(s)
      2. W2164-111: Reset properties to defaults for following beam section material(s)
      3. W2164-114:The value of "Posion" is zero for following beam section material(s)

7. Unknown reasons that can not otherwise be found / fixed:

In some situations, there is no apparent reason why a model will continue to mention this message. When this happens try this as a last resort. Round trip the model using steps here. Be sure to follow these instructions carefully. In the end, try to start with a new model to see if you are able to recreate the same issue that caused the model to continuously post this message. If you are able to do this, please record your screen showing the exact steps used, log a Bentley Service Request, attach the movie and models used, and send for review.  

See Also

Error Messages

Bentley AutoPIPE