Digital Twin Viewer- Views


 

Back to Product Wiki

 

Overview

The Digital Twin module is equipped with a feature that allows users to save and organize views, allowing the user to select saved views and "fly-to" navigate to them to save time with manually navigating back to an area often evaluated on the map or reality data. This article will review the "Views" window and how to use it.

 

Navigating to Views

From the Digital Twin Module, click on the "Views" button along the lower toolbar of the window.

This will open the "Saved Views" inset window. The example below already has three saved views and a folder created.

 

Saving Views and Creating Folders

1. Save View- To save a View, first position your screen on the view you would like to save. For information about using tools to navigate and orient the view, visit the Tools and Layout article. Once positioned, click on the  icon in the upper left portion of the Views window. This will create a new Saved View card in the Ungrouped folder of the window, and the newly created view can be named.

2. Creating Folders- A new folder can be created for organizing Views by first clicking on the   icon in the upper left portion of the Views window. After clicking, a new Group folder will appear, and the newly created folder can be named.

 

Managing Views and Folders

After Views have been saved and folders created, there are a number of additional options that become available to the user.

1. Saved View Options- From the Views window, click on the Kebab icon in the lower-right corner of the Saved View. A new pop-up will appear with a number of options. 

  • Sharing- The share toggle allows the user to make the view visible to other users on the asset. Turning the toggle on allows the "Default View" and "Copy Link" options to become visible. After a View has been shared, the shared icon,  , will be visible in the upper right corner of the tile.
  • Default View- The default view toggle allows the user to set the selected View as the default landing image for the asset when navigating to the Digital Twin module.
  • Copy Link- Copy Link allows the user to copy the link to share the URL with other users.
  • Delete- Delete the selected view.
  • Rename-  Clicking this button will open the Saved View name for editing.
  • Retake- Clicking the Retake button will overwrite the Saved View with the current view.
  • Move- This function allows the user to move the selected view into a folder.
  • Manage Tags- Manage tags opens a pop-out window allowing the user to enter tags that can be used to aid in finding a Saved View using the search function.

 

2. Moving Views to Folders- A single Saved View can be moved via the Kebab window discussed above, and one or more Saved Views can also be moved by selecting one or more Views with the check box on the tile, then clicking the   button in the upper left of the Saved Views window. A pop-up window will appear with a dropdown option to select any previously configured folder or place the Views into a new folder.

3. Folder Options- Clicking the Kebab icon to the right of a folder will open a number of control options for the Folder.

  • Sharing- The share toggle allows the user to make the Folder and all Views in it visible to other users on the asset. Turning the toggle on allows the "Default View" and "Copy Link" options to become visible. After a Folder has been shared, the shared icon,  , will be visible on the right side of the folder row.
  • Delete Group- Deleting the group will delete the fodler and all views inside of it.
  • Rename-  Clicking this button will open the Folder name for editing.
  • New Saved View- This button will create a new Saved View of the current window and save it to the folder.

Desktop View

There is a default folder named "Desktop Views" within the Saved Views window with a number of Views with varying preconfigured settings that may be useful to the user. This folder is located at the bottom of the Saved Views window.

Search, Saved View Options, and Download Viewport

There are a few additional features located in the upper right corner of the Saved Views window. This section will review those tools.

1. Search- The Search function, accessed via the magnifying glass, allows users to search folders and saved views based on the name of the item or tags the user has appended to the item. Once a search filter has been applied, it will be visible across the upper portion of the Saved Views Window. The search filter can be removed by clicking the "X" next to the search keyword.

2. Saved View "When Applying" Settings- Selecting the Kebab option,  ,  in the upper right corner of the Saved Views window opens a new popout window. One of the options included is the "When Applying" dropdown option. This selection controls how the Saved View will be implemented. The options and explanations in detail can be found below.

  • Filter Content - Applies camera orientation, clipping, display settings, reality data, map layers and on/off states of model elements and categories exactly the way they were captured by the saved view.
  • Apply Camera Only - Applies only camera orientation from the saved view. All other settings remain unchanged.
  • Show Everything - Applies all settings from the saved view and additionally displays all model elements and categories.

3. Download Viewport- Selecting the Kebab option,  ,  in the upper right corner of the Saved Views window opens a new popout window. The "Download Viewport" button will create a downloaded .png file of the current screenview.

 

IoT display settings stored in Saved View

The following display settings related to IoT features are stored in a saved view. When you create a new saved view (or retake an existing saved view), the following settings are stored in their current state. When you apply a saved view to the viewport, these settings are applied.

  1. Sensor markers
    1. Show all / Hide all sensor markers
    2. Sensor marker size
    3. Hide untriggered sensors
    4. Sensor Marker style - Elements / Markers
  2. Heatmap
    1. Show/Hide heatmap
    2. Gradient mode - Stepped / Smooth
    3. Color scheme - Blue Red / By Alert Colors
    4. Criteria - By Alerts / By Metric
    5. For 'By Metric'
      1. Sensor Type
      2. Metric
      3. Unit
  3. Show/Hide Displacement Arrows
    1. Arrow scale
    2. threshold levels (unit and value)
    3. Color of each threshold level
  4. Show/Hide timeline slider
    1. Selected timeline date