Purpose
This guide will walk you through the process of assigning a Virtuoso license for a specific product to a user on the Bentley Admin portal (manage.bentley.com). There are multiple ways to assign the license: for all users in the organization via Product Detail page and to the Admin user via Profile page. This new experience is in limited availability and further users will be given access as functionality is extended. If you do not have access to manage.bentley.com please refer to the User and Entitlement Management documentation.
Prerequisites
You must be an admin user with the permission to assign licenses and there must be available unassigned Virtuoso licenses.
Steps-by-Step Instructions
1. Select a product
Assign a Virtuoso License to any user in your organization via the Product Detail page, first select a product with available licenses by navigating to the Products page from the main menu. Here you will see a list of all products available to you. Click on the name of the product for which you want to assign a license. In this example, we are selecting "AutoPIPE Nozzle".
2. View Product licenses
After selecting a product, you will be taken to the product detail page. This page shows a list of all the Virtuoso licenses for that product, including who they are currently assigned to and their status.
From the list, locate a license with the status "Unassigned". Click the checkbox to the left of the unassigned license to select it.
With the unassigned license selected, click the Actions button located at the top right of the license list. From the dropdown menu that appears, select Assign license.
A dialog box will appear titled "Assign [Product Name] to user". In the "User" field, type the email address of the person you wish to assign the license to. Once you have entered the email address, click the Save button.
After saving, you will be returned to the product detail page. The license that was previously "Unassigned" will now show the name of the user it has been assigned to. This confirms that the license has been successfully assigned.
Expected Results
Now the license is assigned to the user and the user will have access to the product.
What if I need to reassign the Virtuoso license to another user?
A Virtuoso license can be reassigned as many times as necessary on the first day it is assigned to a user. If it was initially assigned to the incorrect user, then changing it within that first day will require no special action.
After that initial 24-hour assignment period, the Virtuoso license will be locked for 30 days. At the end of that 30-day period, the Virtuoso license will be available for reassignment, if necessary. Any reassignment will start the 24-hour open user assignment period again, followed by a 30-day lock.
Unassigning and Reassigning licenses
Licenses which aren't a locked state maybe unassigned or reassigned to other users. To do this, select the license, then from the Actions menu select Unassign license or Reassign license.
Additional Notes
Licenses can also be assign to users from the user table, or user profile page.
For full details on Virtuoso licensing, please read the Virtuoso licensing overview