Introductory Knowledge Landing Page
Entitlement Management Landing Page
License Alerting allows administrators and co-administrators to configure an alert when a certain number of product licenses are being consumed at the same time. This feature can warn users before they exceed a Administrator-defined number of licenses being used simultaneously. This is not a hard limit; it is a warning so that a decision can be made.
All of the settings apply only to the country that is selected at the top of the page. Alert settings must be individually configured for each country.
What is the purpose of this information?
The Subscription Entitlement Service provides a license alerting feature that can warn users before they exceed a Administrator-defined number of licenses being used simultaneously. This is not a hard limit, it is a warning so that a decision can be made.
NOTE:
These settings apply only to product versions that are licensed through Subscription Entitlement Service. Products that are checked out are counted in the alert threshold.
Step 1: Determine what applications to enable alerting
1. Open the Subscription Services Portal.
*Please note: You must have the Admin or Co-Administrator role on your Bentley login to access the Portal.
2. Click on the Entitlement Management tile under Resources:
3. Select "Access and Alerting" from the menu.
4. Select 'License Alerting' for an application that you want to enable alerts. Usages that are Unlimited can have a value set if needed. Repeat the following process for additional applications.
Step 2: Enable Alerting
1. Once the application is selected, toggle on 'Enable Alerts for this application'.
*Please note: Alerts are disabled by default.
2. The available options are now displayed and can be set as needed.
User Settings
| Option | Definition |
| when more than x license(s) are in use | Configures the number of licenses that may be in use before an alert will be issued. Ex., if this is set to 5, and five licenses are in use, any new user that tries to open the product will receive an alert. |
| User sign in required |
If this is checked, then users must have an internet connection* and be signed into the Connection Clients to use Bentley products. |
*If User sign in is required, users that do not have an internet connection will not be able to start their Bentley products. Even if an admin unchecks this box, they will still not be able to start the product until the machine has connected to the internet to get the new policy. In this scenario, the only way for an offline user to start their Bentley product is if an admin creates a checkout and walks the policy file over to the user's machine.
When a user receives an alert, it has a default message indicating that the license threshold has been reached. You may use the Customize User Alert Messaging link to create an additional custom message. For example, you may indicate the license threshold or suggest a person at your organization to contact.
Step 3: Configure the alerting options
1. These are the options that can be set:
a. User In-Application Alerts - forces the user to acknowledge that they are bypassing the alert.
b. The number of licenses that are in use when the alert message will be displayed. This can be set to any value.
c. Offline Usage - By default, products can be used offline if a user is unable to sign in. However, users may unknowingly exceed the value set in the license alert while working offline since the computer cannot check with the license alerting service first. To avoid this problem, administrators can disable offline usage.
d. Administrator Notifications - A notification preference can be set for when a user overrides the alert message, so that a Admin knows as it happens or in a daily report.
e. Custom User Alert Message - The Admin can create a custom message that is displayed when the alert value is triggered. This can be helpful in providing user guidance and a contact. When the user selects 'Learn more...' they will see the custom message.
Enabling or disabling either usage alerts or offline usage require a policy refresh on the client side to apply the changes. Client machines automatically refresh their policy files every four hours while signed in or when restarting CONNECTION Client, but changes can be applied immediately by opening the Bentley Licensing Tool and selecting Refresh Policy from the Tools menu.
Changes to the quantity field under User In-Application Alerts do not require a refresh on the client end.
1. Navigate to the Settings in left pane and go to Alerting Configuration .
2. Once settings have been configured, click the Save Changes button in the lower right corner.
3. Once alerting has been configured for products, you can review your settings by selecting 'Alerting Configuration'
Lastly, note that setting alerts does not guarantee protection from a Term License. Refer to the following WIKI -
Can I set notifications specifically for me?
The Notification settings are set for all Admins and Co-Admins at your organization. You cannot make settings for only yourself.
If a user chooses to select the 'Knowledge' option, on the Alert, to proceed, does that guarantee a notification is sent?
The notification service will send an email however, any number of factors outside Bentley's control can prevent successful email delivery.
If I enable Alerts, does that guarantee we won't use a Term License?
Not necessarily, but the alerting service can significantly decrease the chance if configured properly. These settings will decrease the chance of consuming a Term License
Limitations of Threshold Alerting
Availability of License Alerting Across Individual Offerings
Other Language Sources
Deutsch , Français , Español , Italiano , Polski